Do You Believe in Dreams?

5 years ago, I lost my brother from another mother – Ramon. It was painful; it was hard; I miss him today. But, in the midst of this pain, sorrow, despair, brokenness and heart break – God met me. Through the Holy Spirit, in several unique ways, God met me and ministered to my soul. Below, is one of the stories of how the Holy Spirit ministered to me through a dream and vision, with a woman I hardly knew.

So grateful for Barbara and her willingness to take a risk and pass this dream along. I’ve never shared this story publicly before, but it’s beautiful. 

Steve,

I hope this email finds you well and that your heart is covered in peace and
grace as you mourn Ramon’s passing from this life with us to eternal life
with our heavenly Father.

I didn’t know Ramon very well yet had a desire to bless him the last couple
of days. In sharing that desire with Michele, she sent me a link to write
Ramon’s blessing. As I had been praying about what the Lord would have me
write, last night I knew for sure what the Lord would have me say so I was
going to write it today…….

During the night I had a dream that I wanted to share with you as I believe
the Lord would encourage you and others as I was so blessed by it. Here is
my dream…

I was at a restaurant with someone and we were talking about a particular
ministry @ RHF and there were a couple other people at another table from
RHF. When we finished our separate fellowships, we all gathered together
outside in a field and heard that despite the doctors giving Ramon the news
that he only had a couple of weeks to live,  Ramon was going to enter a race
that  was going on in the city as he wanted to use his remaining time on
earth doing what mattered. So all his brothers and sisters in Christ met him
at the starting line of the race. He was so weak there were people on each
side of him holding him up and the rest of the community was beside and
behind him as he took his first step across the starting line. He started
strong and was so determined and courageous to finish well……it was so
beautiful to see him so determined, despite his weakened state and all his
friends & community helping him to finish well….

I learned this morning that Ramon took his final steps of the race we call
life and entered into eternal rest. I will never be able to tell Ramon what
the Lord wanted me to share with him yet it is so amazing that in my desire
to bless him, I was blessed with a vivid dream of Ramon living out the
gospel and I am reminded of 2 Ti 4:7 “I have fought the good fight. I have
finished the race. I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the
crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will reward me
on that day-and not only to me, but to all who have longed for his
appearing.” I am also reminded in the dream that it matters how we run the
race and it matters how we finish and that we all matter to each other. What
I wanted to tell Ramon in a blessing was that, he mattered in my life and
was a blessing to me. When I first came to RHF, he was so kind and always
greeted me and my friend Lessly with a warm smile, open arms and a big hug!
He introduced us to people helping us get connected and helping us feel
welcome in the RHF family. He would always go out of his way to say hello
and make us feel welcomed. He would sit with us in service and we worshipped
together at times. I am grateful for who Ramon was and for his loving
kindness and for the blessing of this dream that will live on and impact
others to be mindful “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such great cloud
of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so
easy entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for
us.” Heb 12:1

We might not ever know how our actions affect people yet Ramon’s
graciousness, love and kindness is a part of who I am in Christ. We matter
to each other and how we treat one another makes a difference. Just a simple
smile or hello making someone feel welcome could be the difference in
someone accepting or rejecting Christ.

Thank you for sharing this dream with me. I pray that you share it with
others to encourage them, if the Lord leads you to do so. I am so blessed to
have received such a sweet blessing in a dream of Ramon the very night
before he entered into eternal rest. For that I give all the glory to the
Lord and ask that He use it according to His will.

With much love-Barbara

Jonathon,

I am so sorry for the delay in responding. I needed to check with Steve
before forwarding as I was not sure if he was going to share this or not. He
said to forward it to you. I left the names of the people out of the dream
so not to distract from Ramon and the message yet I was so blessed to learn
when I told Michele that you were one of the people in the dream and she
told me you were his best friend. It just confirmed again that this was a
gift. I am so very sorry for your loss Jonathon. I pray that you know that I
saw you right next to him, holding him up as he took his first step over the
start line of the race and ended the race in eternity.

I remember this impacting me 5 years ago, when it was first shared with me. But, truthfully, 5 years later – this ministers more to me today than it did while going through this season of disorientation. 

If you ever feel God has given you something for another person, whether it’s a dream, a vision, a scripture, a word, a picture – who knows – I just want to encourage you to take a shot, take a risk and share it. You never, ever know what it’s going to do for that person. Maybe it won’t hit home, but maybe it will?

Maybe it is exactly what that person needs and you have no idea they needed it?

Leave a Reply

