It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like…

Winter is here.

I am experiencing weather consistently in the 30’s. My little Honda CR-V is getting covered in ice. For like the third time in my life, I was in honest to God falling snow. On Saturday, I watched A Christmas Story. My Charlie Brown Christmas tree has been assembled and proudly displayed in my room. I have an Ugly Christmas Sweater currently hung and drying as I write this. My plane ticket for Orange County, CA has been purchased.

These are just a few of the examples of how I’m able to tell winter is here, of how much I thoroughly enjoyed my first Fall in Seattle and get to experience my first winter here too. It is a sign that seasons are changing. It’s gone from summer, to fall, and now I experience winter – a real winter for the first time ever; a winter where Rainbows and shorts may not be getting busted out for a while.

It’s beginning to look a lot like winter, like Christmas. It’s crazy.

For the first time ever, I’m living in a place that has tangible reminders to slow down, to pause, to remember life doesn’t stay the same. Season come and go; seasons change.

Funny enough, as this happens, Seattle is beginning to look a lot like home.

Seattle doesn’t feel like a stranger, it’s becoming familiar. It’s becoming home.

I’ll keep this process short, because my brain is tired.

Leave a Reply

