Thankfulness

I’m just starting to sit in the reality.

I knew the day would come.

Moving to Seattle meant the chances of this becoming a reality were sooner rather than later.

For the first time in my life, I won’t be home for a holiday. This is not a bad thing. It is just different, it is unique. It is something I have never done before.

Thanksgiving will be here quicker than I care to admit. I have to figure out how to practice thankfulness while not being home for a holiday and missing out on some southern style corn bread and schwartzie potatoes. I get to figure out how to make the holiday special, while learning to make Seattle home.

Maybe this is a good way in helping Seattle become home; maybe this will be a great way to build community in Seattle; maybe this will be a fantastic opportunity to stretch my extrovert. Maybe it won’t feel like Thanksgiving; maybe it will be the best Thanksgiving I have ever had. Maybe, I’ll be a tourist in my new home state. Maybe.

Thanksgiving is coming and I’m excited to give thanks and celebrate all God is doing in my life. I celebrate because life is far better than I could have anticipated. I give thanks because I see how much God is moving in this season. I give thanks because there is so much to give thanks about.

I can’t wait to see my new city, my new home, during the holidays – including Thanksgiving. I want to see it all. I want to experience it all. I want to soak it in. I want to be present for all of it.

Let the holiday season begin. Let’s do this.

Leave a Reply

