The Haunting of Seattle 

Last week, my church, Bethany Community Church, invested in their staff team by allowing for those of us who wanted to, to go to Q Commons. if you’re not familiar with what this is, picture a church leaders version of Ted Talks. They are short, relevant talks pertaining to the issues presently facing culture, society, and the church.

Of all the talks I heard, there is one stocking with me. As I have explored the Pacific Northwest and Washington the past couple of days, I have been thinking of the phrase said that night – Seattle is haunted. What the talk was hinting at, is how the PNW is actually very spiritual and is even haunted by it everywhere you look.

Yesterday, while at Snoqualime Falls I saw this:

As a native Southern Californian, who was born and raised in Orange County, I get to study, learn, and explore a new culture. I am so used to the Hispanic heritage of California. In fourth grade, I had to study every mission that ever existed in California. Now, up here, there’s a new culture, heavily influenced by the Native American’s and the exploring pioneers who moved out here to the PNW looking for fortune, independence, and a new, better life.

As I explore my new home, I encounter the God’s presence in some exquisitely beautiful places. Places I never knew existed; places quickly becoming favorite areas; places quickly reminding me of how awesome a work God did in creating the world.

If Seattle is haunted, I look forward to figuring out how to point people to God’s movement and work in the PNW. He’s here, I see Him, and it is absolutely amazing.

I was blessed to be able to join staff at an amazing local church. We are not the only amazing local church looking to unveil Jesus in Seattle. I’m grateful to continue to see God on the move in this city, in this region.

I’ve never been afraid of no ghosts.

May it be in Seattle as it is in heaven.

May it be in the Pacific Northwest as it is in heaven.

Leave a Reply

