6 Months & 50 Books

I’m a reader.

I can’t hide it. I constantly blame this on my mother. Instead of letting me play video games all day as a teenager, she limited my “screen time”. Actually, it started long before that. See, she read to me all the time. My parents were constantly reading as well and it stuck.

I remember as a kid constantly reading. Library trips and bookstores were some of my favorite things.

It’s said leaders are readers. According to Stregnthsfinders, I have “Learner” in my top 5. It’s not surprising.

Since this is my first year out of seminary, I wanted to keep track of how many books I read this year. At one point, I thought if I hit 50 I would be impressed. I quickly realized after 2 months I undershot that goal. After the first half of 2016, I am at 50 books.

In order to remember what I’ve read, I’ve included the top 10 books I’ve read so far. You’ll notice, the books I read are all across the spectrum. I don’t get locked into one genre. I’m always reading a fiction and non-fiction book together. Most the time I combine a theology or ministry book with that as well.

Better: How Jesus Satisfies the Search for Meaning by Tim Chaddick
– This is a book baed on series of sermons on Ecclesiastes he gave at Reality LA. It’s worth your time to help you dig into a book of the Bible perfect for our world today.

Boundaries: When to Say Yes, How to Say No to Take Control of Your Life  by Henry Cloud and John Townsend
– This is a great self-care book; it’s a great book for leaders to read; it’s a great book for those in relationships; it’s a great book for everyone. Seriously, read it.

Magnificent Vibration  by Rick Springfield
– I worked at Barnes & Noble and got an Advanced Reader of this I finally read. I am a huge fan of Chuck Palahniuk and this had some similarities. There’s language and other content, so be wary. It’s also bizarrely  fascinating, and about God and faith. It’s worth the read if you can handle it.

Spiritual Sobriety: Stumbling Back to Faith When Good Religion Goes Bad  by Elizabeth Esther
– I’ve experienced some pretty unhealthy churches and this book was amazing. Read it.

The High Definition Leader: Building Multi-ethnic Churches in a Multi-ethnic World by Derwin Gray
– This has been my favorite book I’ve read all year, about the subject I’m most passionate about.

Life of the Beloved: Spiritual Living in a Secular World  by Henri Nouwen
– I cannot get enough Nouwen. If you haven’t read anything by him, just go by one. He’s quick, concise, and powerful.

Who Moved My Cheese?: An Amazing Way to Deal with Change in Your Work and in Your Life by Spencer Johnson
– This is one of the most impactful books I’ve ever read. It’s a short one, you can read in one sitting. If you feel stuck, read it.

The Running Man by Richard Bachman (Stephen King)
– I love the classic Science Fiction movie and when I discovered it was based on a book while working at Barnes & Noble, I had to buy it. Um, the book and movie are completely different. But both are worth it if you like Science Fiction.

Console Wars: Sega, Nintendo, and the Battle that Defined a Generation by Blake Harris
– This book is long, but reading about the formation of Sega was fascinating.

All In: You are One Decision Away from a Totally Different Life by Mark Batterson
– I love Mark Batterson and the church he is the Pastor of in Washington D.C.

 

Leave a Reply

