Self-Care Mondays

image

Sometimes self-care involves cooking a mouth watering burger, with cheddar cheese, bacon, avocado, tomato and a butter bun. If you’re worried about my health, don’t be, I also grilled up some asparagus and sweet potato fries. My Monday night dinner was delicious.

Why do I post this picture of a mouth watering burger? I post it as a reminder that self-care comes in many forms.

Tonight’s edition was a sibling cooking adventure and I think my sister and I did pretty darn well for ourselves. This is a reminder to myself that sometimes self-care involves a night of doing nothing. As an extrovert that is a hard thing for me to grasp and practice.

When you run a busy, fast life, moments of being lazy are acceptable; moments of no plans, no goals, and not achieving are perfectly acceptable. Slow down and take a pitstop to keep running the race laid out in front of you.

Mondays for any Pastor and Church Staff Member can be a little rough. As a bi-vocational Pastor, Mondays are really hard. I’m still figuring out the best ways to practice self-care Mondays. Sometimes it’s a grueling workout after my 8-5, other days it’s coffee or dinner with a close friend, some times, like tonight, it is a home cooked meal and clearing shows off the DVR with some light reading.

I’m grateful for the lessons this season of life is teaching me. It’s making me a better man and leader. It’s pushing me to rely on Jesus and it’s reminding me of the importance of taking care of me. Along the way it’s helping me become more in touch with how I’m wired, what I need, and who I am.

Leave a Reply

