Summer is Here!

Before I dive into anything important, Internet, I don’t want to give you the false impression. I’m not a fan of the movie Frozen. For a Disney movie it is way overrated – Tangled and The Emperor’s New Groove are far superior, and get way less of the buzz. But, now that I have that rant out of the way, let me talk about why I posted the theme song of summer, sung by Olaf.

I’ve been thinking a lot about expectation versus reality.

This is what Olaf would have to learn the hard way.

Working as a Youth Pastor means students are out of school for the summer. If you forget what it is like to be a teenager on summer vacation, picture bliss, excitement, relaxation, and wonder. I was asking them what plans they had and most of my students were just excited to not go to school.

They had an expectation, but what was reality?

As a Youth Pastor I long to see them use summer as a means of preparation and growth for the upcoming year. I want to see them dive deeper with Jesus and slow down to make time to develop their relationship with Jesus.

That’s my expectation, but what is reality?

What was I like as a teenager? What was I like as a college student?

As a college student, summer was an amazing time for me to go deeper with Jesus. I went on a mission trip to Romania, two summer long mission trips to San Diego, a summer long trip to New Hampshire, and I interned at my church. That was my idea of a compelling and amazing summer.

I know I’m not normal. That’s reality. I know what I thought summer should be like is not what my peers thought it should be.

Expectation versus reality.

What do you want your life to look like come Fall? What stage of life do you want to enter in to? What are you looking to leave behind? Who do you want to be?

Don’t let summer slow your growth down.

Summer should be fun, but it shouldn’t be careless.

 

Leave a Reply

