Ask Me About Jesus

How often do we think about Jesus? When do we meditate and reflect on the work He accomplished? Do we ever just think about what it meant for Him to be perfect human and fully God? What do we think of when we reflect on how His life and death have effected, saved, transplanted and redeemed our souls from the despair of our sin and the destruction which awaited? Do you think about what this means, practically?

Being a disciple of Jesus is learning to walk in these questions. As I live in the shadow, the dust of my rabbi – Jesus – I learn to fully grasp the depth, width and scope of what Jesus’ entire work (His life, death and resurrection). I never stop in this. As I go about my discipleship, following Jesus, I get to invite others into what it means to be a disciple. I love it. Discipleship and invitation are my passions. There is nothing I would rather do with my time, energy and life then seeing people step into discipleship.

What I’ve realized in this process is how much of discipleship and Jesus’ work I need to continue to meditate on. I’ll never fully understand what He’s done for me and this excites me. This quote, from Miroslav Volf’s Free of Charge, is one of those things which hit me today as I read it.

“In God’s memory, we’ve been made innocent across the entire span of our lives. God looks at us and doesn’t superimpose on us our former transgressions. Our transgressions don’t exist anywhere anymore. They don’t stick with us as guilt, and they don’t stick to God’s memory of us. We were sinners, but we are no longer sinners – in a sense, not even sinners past!”

I love this profoundness. I just wonder if we actually understand it?

Better yet, doesn’t this sound like something you’d want to be a part of? Doesn’t this sound like something you want to know more about?

Seriously, if you don’t know Jesus but the idea of your identity no longer being defined by what you’ve done wrong, or where you’ll never measure up – talk to me. Jesus is the one who wipes our sin away. We have all sinned (Romans 3:23) but yet, this doesn’t stop Jesus from loving and dying for us. This doesn’t stop Jesus from dying on the cross and wiping away all our sins.

Like Volf says, when He does this, it’s not just for the now or the past – but of all time. God no longer sees what we’ve done wrong but what Jesus has done right.

Please, talk to me about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

