Reflections from a Seminary Student – Year 2 :: He is My Qualifier

 

“For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.”

(Ephesians 2:8-10 ESV)

“Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will scarcely die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die—but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God. For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. More than that, we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.”

(Romans 5:1-11 ESV)

What qualifies me for ministry?

Who calls me to go on the path and journey which is set before me?

Let me tell you, it is not myself. I, Jonathon Welch, did not choose this path. I had my own plans. Where I am now as a 25 year old man is not anywhere near where I thought I would be as an 18 year old Freshman. Honestly, I’m thankful for that.

My plan was dull. Traditional. There was no God sized dream to it. It was about the American dream. It was about me and fitting God inside my world, not me fitting my life inside God’s world. Sure, I said the right things on the outside but deep down I was a selfish, prideful man with my life played out. I knew where I would be and how I would get there. It was static. On my own power and will I could have succeeded. It was attainable.

Looking back on this now, I hate that.

There was no true vision. There was nothing compelling to what I wanted to do or who I anticipated becoming.

Today, this is radically different. I am a student in seminary, at Fuller Theological Seminary – graduate school. Who has two thumbs and is working on a master’s degree? This guy. That is who.

Still sounds weird thinking about it. I never thought I would be here. I always knew I would follow Jesus wherever He sent me – but I figured my path I had laid out was the one God wanted me to take or why else would I be thinking it? God’s funny. He knows exactly what the next best right step is for my journey.

He also is the only thing which qualifies me for ministry. Read the verses above these thoughts again. Let it saturate you. May you marinate in this truth. May you see your life as one God has qualified and redeemed. If you want to know more about how God has qualified and redeemed you – hit me up and let me know. This is what I love to do – talk about Jesus.

He died on the cross for all of our sins, mine especially, after living a perfect life as the fully God and perfect man. He did what we could not. He lived and succeeded in everything He did on earth. He was constantly pointing people back to His Father who commissioned His life on earth. Now, after Jesus’ resurrection over 2,000 years ago He is sitting at His Father’s right hand, encouraging, longing and hoping every soul will come to know Him.

My journey is this one – to help men and women encounter Jesus. My life is not my own; Jesus’ purchased it back from Hades. He has given me new life, new passion. He has gifted me with things I could never do by myself.

Praise be to Jesus. He is my qualifier. I need Him more and more everyday. I am thankful for this truth because it sets me free to be who He has truly called me to be.

Leave a Reply

