Bill Nye the Science Guy on Creationism vs. Evolution

“Your world becomes fantastically complicated when you don’t believe in evolution.”

Oh Bill Nye, I know you have a degree that probably will make my B.A. and my two Master’s look pale in comparison, but I would love to sit down with you and talk about Jesus. I would love to talk to you about the supernatural and see how you explain those things?

See I love Jesus and believe in creation because I love the fascinatingly complicated things in life.

Is Jesus easy to understand? Do I know why He said “turn the other cheek”?

Do I know how the Trinity works – nope.

Yet, I love the complicated things because it is usually in these things we find the real truth.

Also, as a religious studies major it offends me that he thinks this line of thinking will disappear. Every culture and generation has had religion. Why must people always assume the more education we get, the less we will need it? I’m so thankful more and more schools are placing an emphasis on the study of religion.

Just because it’s complex does not make it wrong.

Leave a Reply

