Learning to Plant Tangible Reminders of Prayer

Identity and vocation are always in formation. There are still many things about my life which are up in the air – honestly, I love it this way. God has always spoken to me with the next best step, not the next five best steps. While I dream of a five and ten year plan, I do those as I analyze and process the wiring God has made in me and the trajectory I see laid out before me by the choosing of the next best, right step. In this process, God speaks to me giving me the next step in the journey – not the next five.

It’s exhilarating. It keeps me on my toes. It keeps me seeking. I have to constantly check the wind and see how the sails of my tall ship is reacting. The discipline and intentionality keeps me in the zone.

For the past several years I have been dreaming of a city. A city that is big, grand and culturally relevant. It is a city which is hard, but exciting. It is a place which desperately needs more churches. Maybe, just maybe it is the place God wants me to be sent out to? Call me crazy, maybe?

I want to be intentional. If this is not the place, God will tell me. But, I do know that this city needs prayer. So, as I sit through the next several years of seminary, I want there to always be a tangible reminder to pray and seek God’s welfare for this city. So why not put a San Francisco sticker on my laptop?

Which one do you like best?

I prefer the second one, but don’t let that influence you. Give me your thoughts and as you do, please pray for San Francisco. I love tangible reminders to prompt me to pray and I will pray for San Francisco.

Leave a Reply

