Reconciliation :: The Process

I do not want to reconcile.

I am a fallen, finite man. Reconciliation is the last thing on my mind most the time. Why, in my clearest mind, on a clearest night, would I ever want to reconcile? To reconcile with someone or something naturally involves dying to yourself. Honestly, I do not want to die to myself.

Why would I?

What man, honestly wants to live out Ephesians 5:25? Yes, this passage is about marriage – but it’s about so much more.

Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her,
(Ephesians 5:25 ESV)

This is what is at the heart of reconciliation. Yes, I am not married – yet. But, this transfers over to all of life for me – especially if I want to be able to love and serve my wife well when I encounter the woman of Jesus with whom I will be better together with then single. In order to practice this when I am married, I need to do it now. If I want to be a man who loves and serves the bride of Christ well as a Pastor and Church Planter – then I need to practice this now.

Reconciliation is about dying to yourself; it is about dying first. Am I willing to lay myself aside for the sake of the community, my family, a friendship?

Am I?

Will I?

I get to practice this art form now. I do not need to wait. I cannot wait.

Now, today and for the forseeable future, I get to practice this art with my brother.

I wonder how it will turn out? Where is it you need to practice reconciliation? Where is it you are unwilling to practice reconciliation?

Leave a Reply

